OSC Announces Fintech Advisory Committee Members for 2019

TORONTO – The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) today announced new members of its Fintech Advisory Committee (FAC), which advises OSC staff on developments in the fintech space, as well as the unique challenges encountered by innovative businesses in the securities industry.

Committee members are:

Andrew Graham, Borrowell
Bram Abramson, Decentral Inc.
Brady Fletcher, TMX
Brian Mosoff, Ether Capital
Bradley Tagieff, BDO Canada LLP
George Bordianu, Balance
Geoffrey Cher, Wildeboer Dellelce LLP
John Willock, Tritum Inc.
Karim Gillani, Luge Capital
Laurence Rose, Omega ATS Inc., 4C Clearing Corp.
Lucille D’Souza, Royal Bank of Canada
Omar Soliman, Stikeman Elliott LLP
Paritosh Gambhir, KPMG LLP
Peter-Paul Van Hoeken, FrontFundr
Randee Pavalow, Regulatory and Legal Consultant
Tanya Woods, Chamber of Digital Commerce Canada
Torstein Braaten, Instinet Canada Ltd

The FAC meets quarterly, with members serving at minimum, a one-year term, and will be chaired by Pat Chaukos, who leads the LaunchPad initiative.

OSC LaunchPad (www.osclaunchpad.ca) is the first dedicated team by a securities regulator in Canada to provide direct support to eligible fintech businesses in navigating the regulatory requirements.  OSC LaunchPad strives to keep regulation in step with digital innovation. 

The mandate of the OSC is to provide protection to investors from unfair, improper or fraudulent practices, to foster fair and efficient capital markets and confidence in the capital markets, and to contribute to the stability of the financial system and the reduction of systemic risk. Investors are urged to check the registration of any persons or company offering an investment opportunity and to review the OSC investor materials available at http://www.osc.gov.on.ca.